Back-court Violation: Throw-In

Back-court BC violations are often confusing. This scenario had me opening the rule book:

Scenario 1: Beginning of 3rd period, A1 inbounds ball to A2 who is standing both feet in A’s front-court, but right in front of division line.  A2 tries to receive pass with one hand but does not control it, and in trying to control it pushes ball to floor, in the back-court. RULING: No possession/ie team control so no violation. Both her feet were in FC, but without possession there is no team control yet so no FC/BC yet. If she would’ve controlled it then dribbled in BC, then BC call.

Bam/Bam Plays: Jump Ball/Push, Backcourt/Crash

Sometimes two things happen so fast – bam.. bam – you often make a ruling then rewind/slow mo it in your head 20 times.

Background: A held ball (official name for ‘jump ball’ when 2 players gain control of ball simultaneously) can often lead to frustration. Backcourt violations occur the instant the ball is illegally touched in the backcourt.

Scenario 1: A1 and B1 gain possession. As I whistle/signal held ball, B1 pushes A1. The timing was so close: I already decided it was a held ball, as I was signaling/whistling the push occurred. The push happened during my whistle, I ended up ruling a common foul push (after signaling a held ball). UGLY!
Scenario 2: A1 is last to touch ball bouncing into backcourt. Right after A1 touches ball, B1 hustling to get ball crashes into A1 causing her to fall. The crash occurred after the touch/BC violation but not after the whistle.  RULING: If the violation came first, the only real decision to make is “Was the contact intentional of flagrant?”  If not, ignore it.  If the contact was significant, it could be judged intentional (hard foul) and then ruled a dead ball technical foul.